Satori

Satori: is a Japanese Buddhist term for “enlightenment.” The word literally means “understanding.” “Satori” translates as a flash of sudden awareness, or individual enlightenment. In English we may refer to it as an epiphany; the sudden realization or comprehension of the essence or meaning of something.

No matter what you call it, I’m always amazed when they happen to me. Tonight it was while I was driving home. I was thinking about the new student I will begin to train with tomorrow and going over in my mind many of the basic techniques he will have to learn. One particular exercise came to mind, and though this particular basic exercise I have in mind seams to have no redeeming qualities other then just a means to strengthen a stance while practicing punches, one would probable not use this combination in an actual moment of combat.

But it was a flash in my mind which gave me a small moment of satori on this particular exercise and I was wrong to believe that the exercise was merely a means of basic stance strengthening. Now I’m looking forward to putting this exercise into practice tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

